Skip to content

Labour Laws in India

January 2, 2016

To understand the Labour Laws in India one has to go through (The given list is incomplete)

  • Industrial Disputes Act, 1947
  • Trade Unions Act, 1926
  • Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923
  • Factories Act, 1948
  • Minimum Wages Act, 1948
  • Employees State Insurance Act, 1948
  • Payment of Wages Act, 1965
  • Payment of Bonus Act, 1965
  • Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972
  • Maternity Benefit Act, 1961
  • Industrial Employment (Standing Orders) Act, 1946
  • Employees Provident Fund and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952
  • Mines Act, 1952
  • Equal Remuneration Act, 1976
  • Employers Liability Act, 1938
  • Apprentices Act, 1961
  • Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Act, 1986

The are other specific acts for Beedi Workers, Cine Workers, Building & Construction workers, Plantation Labours, Journalists / Newspaper Employees etc.,

The amount of thought and the work which has gone inside framing all these is mind boggling!



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: